Inclusive Communication does not refer only to disabled people. Being inclusive is about making sure the service or information you provide is available to everyone.

This means, to consider inclusive communication across all of the nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Sex
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Pregnancy and maternity
  7. Marriage and civil partnership
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Gender reassignment

This is also applies to working environments. Inclusive Communication should be applied to all working environments. Below is an example list:

  • Health and Social Care
  • Transport services
  • Police services
  • Voluntary groups
  • Community groups
  • Private companies
  • Education
  • Public services